Forums

Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

BPDlearner1
Casual Contributor

Recent BPD Diagnosis

Hey everyone,

This is my first time on any forums or reaching out online for this type of community support. This week I was diagnosed with BPD, and although I am grateful for the diagnosis as it's given me some answers to a lot of my behavioural traits and knowing what i'm dealing with, i am still struggling to come to terms with my diagnosis and am unsure where to start on my recovery journey. I have been referred to do DBT therapy, but would love to hear from anyone here about the steps they first took when they first got their diagnosis, or any reading or books/ podcasts that helped educate you about the condition. I'm feeling scared of the recovery journey ahead of me and could use some advice/ a BDP community.

Thank you!

12 REPLIES 12

Re: Recent BPD Diagnosis

Hi there @BPDlearner1 ! 

Welcome to the forums! I'm also a BPD-er. It's certainly an amazing journey. I've learnt so much from my BPD experiences. I wouldn't be here if it weren't for my BPD. These forums were a godsend to me. It allowed me to connect with others and sharing my experiences.

I completed months of MBT treatment. It made a huge difference in teaching me more helpful ways of thinking and behaving. 

You can connect with others here too Raising Awareness of BPD - Flipping the Script .

See you around!

Hi @BPDlearner1

Welcome to the community!

It's totally understandable that a BPD diagnosis can bring about mixed feelings. It's great that you've been able to identify how this new diagnosis has made you feel and that you've taken the step of reaching out for support at this time.